Monthly Archives: November 2009

Scout honored for saving brother

Troop 16 member Allen Ellis was recently honored by the Civil Air Patrol for helping to save his 3-year-old brother’s life during a summer camping trip. Allen, a freshman at St. John’s Prep and a Star scout, is a cadet airman in the Civil Air Patrol.

According to the Danvers Herald, Allen told his mother, Kristen Ellis, to take her brother’s clothes off and pour cool water on him after she accidentally spilled boiling water on the boy. Thanks to Allen’s quick thinking, his brother made a full recovery.

Troop 16 extends its congratulations to Allen, who lived up to the Scout Motto — “Be Prepared” — as well as to the Scout Slogan — “Do a Good Turn Daily.”

Scouts recognized at Court of Honor


Eagle homecoming: 1978 Troop 16 Eagle Scout Rich Young, center, was recognized by the troop at our Court of Honor on Tuesday. From left are adult leaders Fred Palmer (Eagle), Dan Kennedy (Eagle), Steve Burrill (Eagle), Kevin Gibbons (Eagle), Scoutmaster Dan Thornell, and Eagle Scout Justin Burrill.

Members of Boy Scout Troop 16 were recognized for their achievements at our Court of Honor on Tuesday. Four boys were honored for rank advancements: Chris Gilmore and Derek LeBlanc (Life), Sean Gibbons (Second Class), and Kyle Thornell (Tenderfoot).

The Court of Honor was led by Senior Patrol Leader Andrew Thornell and Troop Scribe Ben Appel, assisted by Troop Chairman Gregg Perry, Scoutmaster Dan Thornell, and other adult leaders.

A highlight of the evening was a talk by Troop 16 Eagle Scout Rich Young, who received his award in 1978 and who now lives in South Berwick, Maine. Mr. Young, who has been an adult leader with Troop 338 in South Berwick, talked about his experiences as a scout in the 1970s.

Also recognized was Matt Kercher, an adult leader with Troop 173 at Hanscom Air Force Base, who assisted with our 50-mile backpacking trip in August.

Scouts receiving recognition for awards and activities were as follows.

One Mile Swim: James Cummings and Evan Palmer.

50-Miler: Sky Blanchet, Evan Palmer, Trevor Perry, and Andrew Thornell.

First Year Campers (Hidden Valley): Sam Acciavetti, Andrew Lucy, and Kyle Thornell.

Polar Bear Swim (Hidden Valley): Sam Acciavetti, Ben Appel, Adam Czubinski, Rian Dalton, Sean Gibbons, Derek LeBlanc, Andrew Lucy, Evan Palmer, Andrew Thornell, Darian Thornell, and Shawn Washburne.

Klondike Derby: Sky Blanchet, Collin Butler, James Cummings, Chris Gilmore, Tim Gordon, Derek LeBlanc, Cameron MacLeod, Emmett Pierro, Andrew Thornell, and Jonathan Waugh.

Punkin’ Chunkin’ Camporee: Ben Appel, Troy Ellis, Chris Gilmore, Kyle Thornell, and Jonathan Waugh.

Merit Badges

  • Sam Acciavatti (Leatherwork)
  • Ben Appel (Archery, Camping, and Communications)
  • Graham Beck (Fishing and Shotgun)
  • Sky Blanchet (Forestry, Geology, and Pioneering)
  • Justin Burrill (Journalism)
  • Collin Butler (Art and Rowing)
  • James Cummings (Camping and Rowing)
  • Adam Czubinski (Communications and Swimming)
  • Aidan Dalton (Art and Woodcarving)
  • Rian Dalton (First Aid)
  • Sean Gibbons (Communications and Woodcarving)
  • Chris Gilmore (Pioneering and Wilderness Survival)
  • Derek LeBlanc (Camping, Communications, and Environmental Science)
  • Andrew Lucy (Leatherwork)
  • Evan Palmer (Art)
  • Trevor Perry (Emergency Preparedness and Wilderness Survival)
  • Emmett Pierro (Archery and Geology)
  • Evan Rutkowski (Shotgun, Weather, and Woodcarving)
  • Andrew Thornell (Wilderness Survival)
  • Darian Thornell (Rowing and Woodcarving)
  • Shawn Washburne (Art and Rowing)
  • Jonathan Waugh (Art and Woodcarving)